Apple Pay debuts in Sweden, Finland, Denmark and UAE

NFC-based payments coming to more countries.

Apple has just launched its contactless payments in four new countries – Finland, Denmark, Sweden and UAE. There only a few banks supporting the NFC-based payments in these countries, but hopefully more will be added soon. In Sweden, ApplePay supports both debit and credit cards from Nordea and ST1.

Customers of Jyske Bank with Debit cards can pay using their modern Apppe devices in Denmark, as well as customers of Nordea with Visa Debit and Credit cards. In Finland, the banks supporting Apple Pay are Nordea and ST1, while in the United Arab Emirates there are four banks at launch. After adding support for these four countries, Apple has 20 markets in total where customers can pay contactless.

Apple Pay

Many locations and stores in Sweden, Finland, Denmark and UAE already accept contactsless payments via supported iPhones, iPads or through the web. For example, in Sweden you can use Apple Pay in Elgiganted, Lidl, Shell, Pressbyrån, Scandic and other stores.

ApplePay in stores works with iPhone SE, iPhone 6 or newer, AppleWatch, iPad Air 2, Mini 3 & 4 and all iPad Pro.

Leave a Reply